Daughter of The Burning City Review

30237061

4.0

I have no idea why it took me so long to finish this book. I wish it hadn’t because I feel like I missed out on some of the fun by taking my sweet time. But nonetheless, Daughter of The Burning City was a unique and entertaining read. I was disappointed when I realized it was a standalone novel because I feel like there are so many more places to experience and explore in the world that Amanda Foody has created. If one book is all I’m allowed though, then Daughter of The Burning City is a book I’ll treasure for awhile.

A friend recently pointed out to me that the book is more tell-y than show-y, and I think I agree with her. Daughter of the Burning City lacks the “floral” description that a lot of YA novels have. While that’s not a make or break thing for everyone, it can be for some. Daughter of the Burning City is definitely a dialogue driven novel, so if you’re really a fan of character interaction, then this will be a good read for you.

Foody has created a super unique world and culture for this book, which is why I was so irritated to find that it was a stand alone novel – I can’t help but feel that the awesome world building in this novel deserves more attention. It was beautifully done and decently intricate – intricate enough that it would be a no brainer if she decided to pull a few more stories out of the depths of the Gomorrah and the Up and Down Mountains, I wouldn’t complain at all.

I couldn’t find myself getting overly attached to the characters though, outside of Sorina and Luca. I sort of shrugged off the character deaths that occurred throughout the book – which sucks because I feel like I would have enjoyed the book more overall if I had more opportunity to learn about the characters and relate to them.

Overall, I liked Daughter of the Burning City. I wasn’t IN LOVE with it, but I don’t regret it in any way. It was a good enough read for me to suggest it to some of my friends. So if you’re intrigued by the description, don’t be afraid to pick it up.

 

BOOK STATS:

  • YA Fantasy
  • Written by Amanda Foody
  • Published by Harlequin Teen in July 2017
  • 384 Pages
  • Start Date: July 28, 2017
  • Finish Date: August 7, 2017
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

