Book Beginnings: Daughter of the Burning City

* Book Beginnings is a meme hosted by Rose City Reader, where every Friday, bloggers post the first sentence (or few sentences) of their current read, as well as their first impressions of the book! *

Alright, I know it’s technically Saturday. But I work nights and I honestly just got back from Walmart and found a bunch of cops in my apartment parking lot. So I decided I’d make up the blog post I missed and pretend they’re not out there.


I peek from behind the tattered velvet curtains at the chattering audience, their mouths full of candied pineapple and kettle corn. With their pale faces flushed from excitement and the heat, they look as gullible as dandelions, much like the patrons in the last five cities. The Gomorrah Festival hasn’t been permitted to travel this far north in the Up-Mountains in over three years, and these people look like they’re attending the opera or the theater rather than our traveling carnival of debauchery.


I received this book in this month’s Unicorn Crate box (check out my unboxing for it here). I’m only 77 pages in so far, but I plan on making a larger dent in it as soon as I’m done writing this post. Daughter of the Burning City is one of my most anticipated reads of this year. The cover is gorgeous and the writing style is captivating in my opinion. It’s been a little slow to start so far, but that may be because I’ve been slightly distracted lately and unable to truly give it my complete attention.

I did think this book would be a bit darker to begin with, though. A death does happen fairly quickly, but it didn’t seem dark the way the book was advertised to be. I’ve seen this book compared to Caraval and even Six of Crows, and it just doesn’t have that dirty, grungy feel I wanted. YET. I’m not going to judge it too hard right away, considering I’m less than 100 pages in. Hopefully, things get a little muddier so I can love this book as much as I want to.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

