Book Beginnings: And I Darken

* Book Beginnings is a meme hosted by Rose City Reader, where every Friday, bloggers post the first sentence (or few sentences) of their current read, as well as their first impressions of the book! *

I’m doing this meme a little bit late, considering it’s normally a Friday meme. But I found it and really liked the concept and decided I didn’t really give a hoot about it being a day late!


Vlad Dracul’s heavy brow descended like a storm when the doctor informed him that his wife had given birth to a girl. His other children – one from his first wife, now nearly full grown, and even a bastard child from his mistress, born last year – had been boys. He had not thought his seed weak enough to produce a girl…

“Ladislav,” he declared. It was a feminine form of Vlad. Diminutive. Diminished. If Vasilissa wanted a strong name, she would have to bear him a son. “Let us pray she is beautiful so we can get some use out of her,” he said. The infant screamed louder.


Like so many of the books I read, this one has been suggested to me over and over again by one of my close friends. I’m not sure what I thought it would be when I first started reading it, but now that I’m incredibly close to finishing it – I think I’ve been pleasantly surprised so far.

I went into this thinking it would be closer to supernatural or fantasy in nature, and I was wrong. Then I thought, after reading about a hundred pages in, that it would turn out to be more dramatic and romantic – and was proven wrong a second time.

And I Darken is historical fiction which I’m grateful for because it’s a genre I’ve ignored for a while up until now. Recently I’ve read a small handful of novels, such as Stalking Jack the RipperThe Beautiful Ones, and The Book of Whispers to name a few, and all of them have given me a new love for historical fiction.

Another reason why this book differs from a lot of the ones I usually read is because it covers the entire life span of Lada, the main character. I can’t decide if I love or hate this – or fall somewhere in between – because I’m much more of a “get to the good part” kind of reader.

Nevertheless, I’ll be done with And I Darken within a day or two and I’ll be able to share my final thoughts with you all then!

What do you think? Have you read this book before? What were your first impressions? Let’s chat!
Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

