The Beautiful Ones Review

*this book was provided by publishers through NetGalley, in return for an honest review*

9781250099068-526x800

5.0

“I’ve thought silly things, too,” Nina said. “It doesn’t matter. But now? What will you do now? For a man who once gave me a pack of playing cards, I don’t think you’ve ever learned one must gamble in order to win. And despite all your talk of teaching me, that’s one lesson I can give you.”


Wow, you guys. Just wow. I’ve read one of Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s novels before (Certain Dark Things), but this one really tops not only that work of hers but also a lot of other books I’ve read this year so far.

The Beautiful Ones is a beautiful novel. It reads very much like a classic in a lot of ways, and it often reminded me of a Jane Austen or Charlotte Bronte novel. It tells the story of Hector Auvrey and Nina Beaulieu – a heartbroken man scrambling to exact revenge and a young girl who is used as a pawn by those around her, both of whom share a putrid sort of hatred for Valérie Beaulieu.

I could go on for days trying to explain the story line, but I won’t. Instead, I’ll say this: the characters in the book were beautiful. The way their backstories intertwined and how well rounded their personalities were was incredible. A lot of times, when you read a novel, there’s always a few flaws – character traits or incidents that just don’t make sense. The Beautiful Ones had none of these. There wasn’t a single part of the book that made me pause; I read straight through with an insane amount of love and excitement for what I was reading.

The conflict was great as well. Because it is a romance, there obviously isn’t a lot of hand to hand combat or insane battles like you see in fantasy, but I was on the edge of my seat the entire time as the characters slowly started to realize what was going on.

I cared about the characters and worried, and cried, and raged for these characters. I ranted to my friends about these characters, even though they had no idea what was going on because they weren’t reading this book.

All I can really, definitely say, is this- get your hands on this book when it comes out in October, friends. You won’t regret it.

 

BOOK STATS:

  • Fantasy/Romance
  • Written by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • To Be Published by Thomas Dunne Books in October 2017
    eGalley provided by NetGalley.com
  • 320 Pages
  • Start Date: June 22, 2017
  • Finish Date: June 24, 2017
Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

