Wintersong Review

 

24763621

3.0

Whew, this book was something else. I’ve screamed and ranted about this book for a couple of days now, and I think I’ve finally decided how I feel about it. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones was an incredibly confusing, but equally enchanting book. I think I liked it, despite the fact that if I think about it too hard, I don’t really know what I’ve read.

Wintersong tells the story of Elizabeth and the Goblin King. It’s a story filled with a lot of tension, of both the conflictual and romantic kind. The beginning was absolutely incredible and made me super excited to read the book. But towards the middle, it made almost no sense. I knew what was going on, but I didn’t know why anything was happening. The writing was really prose-y and was incredible at some times, and terrible at others. But mostly I had a lot of feelings for the main characters, which was one of the driving forces for me to continue through the boring middle part and get to the part where I knew they would end up together.

Now, I’m going to throw this out here (and plenty more times throughout the course of this blog’s lifetime) and say that I’m a pretty solid fan of smut scenes. I HAVE NO SHAMENow, I understand that some publishers who publish YA novels tend to keep out graphic scenes, or not allow them altogether. But with the tension in this book, and some of the language and content that made up the beginning, I was ready for the crazy smut scene that I knew would ensue when these characters admitted their feelings for one another. BUT IT DIDN’T FU*KING HAPPEN. I cannot explain my disappointment when the author time skipped to the next morning, which I hate. I felt like I missed out on one of the huge catalysts of the story, and after that, the story sort of fell apart for me until the last 100 pages or so.

The last 100+ pages of this book had me just as excited and invested as the beginning did. It had me crying. Not only that, but it had me excited for the next book. Like I said, I’m super conflicted about this book, and it’s really hard to go into depth about it without spoiling a bunch of stuff for those of you who haven’t read the book and still wish to. But I will say this: Wintersong was originally written and marketed as an adult novel, and probably should have stayed that way in order to maintain most of the integrity of the middle of the story – which essentially is a young woman discovering sex, her body, and her own inner feelings for the first time, since she was shadowed and forgotten for most of her life.

Since finishing, I’ve discovered that the author released the deleted scenes to those of her readers who wanted them when the book first came out – and lucky for me Hannah over at bibliosanonymous had the original email and sent those beautifully smutty scenes to me. They were just as crazy as I thought they were going to be LMAO.

 

BOOK STATS:

  • YA Fantasy
  • Written by S. Jae-Jones
  • Published by Thomas Dunne Books in February 2017
  • 436 Pages
  • Start Date: June 14, 2017
  • Finish Date: June 21, 2017
One thought on “Wintersong Review

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

