May Wrap Up/June TBR

may wrap up june tbr

 

May wasn’t a very productive month for me as far as reading goes. I only got through three novels last month. But to be fair, one of them was ACOWAR, so the post-read slump makes up for some of my lost time.

 

 

I read A Court of Wings and Ruin, by Sarah J Maas – which was painfully incredible and slumped the sh*t out of me because I inhaled it in three days and then sobbed about it for two weeks until I picked up my next book. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco was even better than I thought it would be and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one when it comes out in September. I snagged Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia immediately after I finished SJTR and while it wasn’t my favorite read from May, it was definitely the most unique!

I’m currently reading The Progeny by Tosca Lee, which I started around a week ago. It’s very well written and interesting, and I would have finished it to round off last month if I had been better about finding time to read.

As for this month, I have a handful of books that I know I’m going to read for sure. I’ll add a few more to this list, just in case I get super ambitious.

 

 

June TBR #1:
Firstborn by Tosca Lee

Firstborn is the sequel to The Progeny, and if it’s anything like the first book in the series, I know I’ll have to read it immediately. It’s one of my June reads that I know I’ll get to reading no matter what excuses I come up with.

 

June TBR #2:
Roar by Cora Carmack

I’m really excited for this one. It’s coming in my Unicorn Crate Box this month, and it’s signed. This is my first time ordering a Unicorn Crate Box, and from what I’ve seen of the unboxings of previous boxes, they’re whimsical and adorable. This box will only be their third YA fantasy box, and they’re already selling out of subscriptions. I’m really excited that I’ve managed to snag a recurring one. I’ll definitely be posting an unboxing for you guys to see in case anyone has been on the fence about this box!

Anywho, this book seems like it’s going to be a great start to this new YA fantasy series. It’s about witches/magical folk with storm magic, HOW COOL IS THAT?

 

June TBR #3:
The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

I tend to stray away from novels that lean on the contemporary side because they tend not to hold my interest. But I saw a book trailer for this one somewhere – I can’t remember now – and I totally snagged my attention. I picked up a pretty, sparkly signed edition from Target this week (along with my next TBR book in this list), and I’m really excited to read it. I’m hoping it’s as great as it sounds.

 

June TBR #4:
Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts

Royal Bastards seems like it falls somewhere between Six of Crows and Throne of Glass. It’s on the smaller side of fantasy novels, which always makes me leery because I have this aversion to fantasy novels that lack backstory and description, and small fantasy novels usually fall into this category because there isn’t any room for backstory in a 300-page novel… BUT – this book sounded fun and adventure-y and I’m excited to read it.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

