The Progeny Review

the progeny reviewdownload

5.0

HOLY SHIT YOU GUYS. I just finished this book literally minutes ago and I am reeling over the ending. This is not going to be a very formal review because I’m WAY too pumped up to try to stay fancy with this one.

What a gem this book is. To be honest I’ve never really seen anything for it on bookstagram or blogs or anything. It’s a hidden treasure for sure. I received this book from a friend who went to SDCC last year, along with a bunch of other ARCS, and I just read it. I’ve had this beauty for nearly a year just sitting on my shelf waiting to be read and my lord I wish I had read this closer to payday so I could buy the damn sequel without WAITING.

The Progeny by Tosca Lee tells the story of Audra, a girl being hunted because of her relation to Elizabeth Bathory – the serial killer you guys – but she can’t remember she’s being hunted. Audra has her memory removed to protect her loved one, EVEN THOUGH SHE DOESN’T KNOW WHO THEY AREShe suddenly finds herself being hunted again after a month of anonymity and memory-less confusion and has to struggle to learn who she is in order to survive.

I’m terrible at explaining the gist of things, especially when I’m excited. But this book was beyond words. It was so twisty I’m literally still having revelations about who characters really were and how they related to the story. The characters were quirky and incredible and loveable – I felt for them and worried about them. The main characters were without a doubt some of the most interesting characters from the many books I’ve ever read. There were historical aspects, religious aspects, even modern millennial aspects that I wasn’t expecting. Beyond a doubt, one of the best books I’ve ever read.

 

BOOK STATS:

  • Thriller
  • Written by Tosca Lee
  • Published by Howard Books in May 2016
  • 322 Pages
  • Start Date: May 27, 2017
  • Finish Date: June 8, 2017

 

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

