Top Five Wednesday – Top TBR SFF Books

top5wed4-5-2017

I guess I’ll take a break from filling out my FAFSA applications for this year to post for #T5W! This week’s topic is the top five sci-fi and fantasy books (SFF) on your TBR list! This topic is a breeze for me because there are so many fantasy and sci-fi books that I’m obsessed with, that also have new sequels coming out this year!

SFF Book #1: A Court of Wings and Ruin

ACOWAR_US

Holy crap, am I ready for this book. It comes out next month and I’m practically slobbering over the cover at this point, DYING to finally have it in my hands. I’m honestly terrified of what we’ll find in this finale, though, as we’ve never seen a finale from Sarah J Maas. Do we really have no idea how brutal her tendencies may be. There are a few characters I wouldn’t mind having a slow, torturous death. But if any of the Night Court is touched, I’ll screech.

SFF Book #2: Godsgrave

23264671

Godsgrave, for those of you who haven’t raved over Jay Kristoff yet, is the sequel to his adult fantasy novel, Nevernight. The series tells the story of Mia Corvere, a trained assassins who longs to avenge her family’s downfall and death. The characters in these stories are incredible. The plot is dark and grungy and dirty in the best possible way. I adore these books and even have plans to incorporate a couple of the characters from this series into my tattoo sleeve in the (hopefully) somewhat near future. It’s a great story that I have to resist rereading constantly. Definitely check it out, if you haven’t already!

SFF Book #3: Our Dark Duet

OurDarkDuet

I had a difficult time attaching myself to the first book of this duology, This Savage Song. It took some time, but eventually, I came to love the story and the characters. The most refreshing part about this story is its lack of romance. The characters are completely platonic and it really draws the attention back to the plot so that you’re not focusing on the character’s relationship and asking yourself “when are they gonna bang?!” (don’t lie to yourself, we all do it). I’m really excited to see what’s going to happen in Our Dark Duet because the last book left off at a weird spot, and I NEED CLOSURE.

SFF Book #4: Illuminae Files #3

Screenshot_2016-02-29-09-40-40-1-1

So, we don’t have a name or cover for this one quite yet, but I’m hardcore stalking Jay and Amie’s twitters for this day when it’s all released. These books are spectacular through and through. If you haven’t read them yet, or at least listened to the audio book, you need to crawl out of whatever hole you’ve been living in and pick them up IMMEDIATELYThey’re without a doubt some of the most exciting and obsessive books I’ve ever read.

SFF Book #5: Strange the Dreamer

new-release-date-2

I cannot express how pumped I am to read this book. It’s so gorgeous and Laini Taylor’s writing style is so unique, it’s sure to be something I won’t find in any of my other books. I still don’t have it in my library quite yet (I’ve got bills to pay first), but as soon as I’ve got it, I’m sure I’ll devour it. This is the only one of this Wednesday’s top five list that has actually already been released. So I really have no excuse not to get my hands on it!

 

(also, p.s. – for some reason my post that was scheduled for Thursday (tomorrow) went up super early. My bad!)

3 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday – Top TBR SFF Books

  1. Literally love everything about this post!! I haven’t read nevernight but I started and got a little confused in the beginning. I’ve heard you just have to get through the first 100 pages or so and then it’s amazing so I’ll have to pick it up again soon! I’m also SO EXCITED for Ilumminae Files #3 WOW can’t wait. I mean the excitement for ACOWAR goes without saying- that book will literally destroy me *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

