April TBR

aprilTBR

Since I was able to read four books last month, I’ll up my count by a couple this month and aim for six books. I tried to pick a couple of books that have been on my shelf for a while, as well as a couple of my newer purchases. We’ll see if I’m able to get through them all! Let me know what you thought of these books (if you’ve read them) or if you’re interested in them (if you haven’t read them) so I can decide which order to read them in.

 

TBR Book #1: Windwitch by Susan Dennard

29939390

Blurb:

After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.

When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?

After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands.


Windwitch has to come first on my list because I just finished Truthwitch and I can’t bear to read something in between! Even though I started this at the end of March, I’m counting it as a part of my April TBR because the more I can talk about this series, the better. If the cover and title are an indication of this novel’s contents, we’ll hopefully be seeing more of Merik – who I adored in Truthwitch. I also can’t wait to see what happens with Safi and the Marstoks.

 

TBR Book #2: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

23272028

Blurb:

The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar.

From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.


A Study in Charlotte is just too cute to pass up. The story concept seems light and fun. Not to mention, the cover is adorable. I have the paperback version and it’s one of those floppy, thin, soft books that fits in your hands really well. I’m obsessed with the feel of this book. The reviews on Goodreads are pretty decent, and it’s been awhile since I’ve read a mystery so it should be a nice break from the high fantasy I’ve been reading nonstop lately.

 

TBR Book #3: Spindle by E.K. Johnston

28375641

Blurb:

It has been generations since the Storyteller Queen drove the demon out of her husband and saved her country from fire and blood. Her family has prospered beyond the borders of their village, and two new kingdoms have sprouted on either side of the mountains where the demons are kept prisoner by bright iron, and by the creatures the Storyteller Queen made to keep them contained.

But the prison is crumbling. Through years of careful manipulation, a demon has regained her power. She has made one kingdom strong and brought the other to its knees, waiting for the perfect moment to strike. When a princess is born, the demon is ready with the final blow: a curse that will cost the princess her very soul, or force her to destroy her own people to save her life.

The threads of magic are tightly spun, binding princess and exiled spinners into a desperate plot to break the curse before the demon can become a queen of men. But the web of power is dangerously tangled–and they may not see the true pattern until it is unspooled.


This is another sequel that I’ve been putting off for a while. The first book in this series had a great atmosphere. The writing was incredible and heavy, but it definitely is one of those stories that you have to be in the mood to read. I can’t wait to see what this book has in store. Plus, look at how gorgeous the cover is! My favorite thing about this series is how beautiful the book itself is. Not only is the cover incredible, but so is the naked book. Next time you see one of these at B&N – strip it! You won’t regret it.

 

TBR Book #4: Scythe by Neal Shusterman

28954189

Blurb:

Thou shalt kill.

A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery. Humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now scythes are the only ones who can end life—and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the size of the population under control.

Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe—a role that neither wants. These teens must master the “art” of taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own.


To be honest, I haven’t seen a lot of hype for this book. So I hope it’s just underrated and not bad… I really have no idea. The concept is really unique and I’ve never read anything like it before. It has a pretty strong rating on Goodreads (4.3 out of 5 stars), but other than the knowledge that it’s decently liked by the Goodreads population, I’m going in blind. Which I love, because it means my opinions will be 100% my own.

 

TBR Book #5: The Bear and The Nightengale by Katherine Arden

25489134

Blurb:

At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn’t mind—she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse’s fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.

After Vasilisa’s mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa’s new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows.

And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa’s stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for either marriage or confinement in a convent.

As danger circles, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed—this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse’s most frightening tales.


My friend Hannah from over at bibliosanonymous has been hounding me to read The Bear and The Nightengale for a really long time. She brought me the ARC of it from SDCC last year, and I still haven’t gotten around to it. I’m terrible, I know. So I’m honestly reading this for her because she swears by it. The cover is gorgeous, and the writing style is similar to Spindle and A Thousand Nights – very floral and heavy and fantasy through and through. I can’t wait.

 

TBR Book #6: The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher

51XkbyaEYXL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

Blurb:

The Princess Diarist is Carrie Fisher’s intimate, hilarious and revealing recollection of what happened behind the scenes on one of the most famous film sets of all time, the first Star Wars movie.

When Carrie Fisher recently discovered the journals she kept during the filming of the first Star Wars movie, she was astonished to see what they had preserved—plaintive love poems, unbridled musings with youthful naiveté, and a vulnerability that she barely recognized. Today, her fame as an author, actress, and pop-culture icon is indisputable, but in 1977, Carrie Fisher was just a (sort-of) regular teenager.


I’ve been talking myself in and out of reading this book for months now. I was a very very big fan of Carrie Fisher, and have grown even more interested in her personal life after being diagnosed with bipolar disorder (a disease that Carrie suffered from as well). I know reading this will only make me miss her more. But I’m still so excited to include this for the month of April.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

