NYT by the book tag

I’m terrible and I can’t sleep, so I decided to do a book tag to keep me busy.

This is another one of those tags I found creeping through posts! I tag everyone who wants to do it because I’m too lazy to tag you all.

nytbythebookTAG


What is on your nightstand right now?

Right now I’ve got a water bottle, my tablet, a bottle of ibuprofen, my Nintendo 3DS, a bottle of melatonin (I can never sleep), and a box of Good Thins spinach and garlic potato crackers.

Oh yeah, also Windwitch by Susan Dennard

What was the last truly great book you read?

The last truly great book I read… hmm. That’s a tricky one. I honestly have to say A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab. I sobbed. A lot.

If you could meet any author – dead or alive- who would it be? And what would you want to know?

100% without a doubt, JRR Tolkien. I would just hug him and thank him for getting me through a lot of hard times. No questions, except maybe how he felt about them leaving Tom Bombadil out of the movies. It’s my favorite part and I’m still so so so sad.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

They’re not on my shelf, they’re on my kindle. But I have a very deep-rooted obsession with Marie Hall/Jovee Winters Kingdom series and the series spin-offs. They’re so smutty and romantic and cheesy. Plus they’re fairytale and folklore retellings. They’re great! If you want to read them, the first three books are free in kindle format and you can download the kindle app on any smartphone if you don’t have a kindle! Here’s the link!

How do you organize your personal library?

Right now my shelves are organized alphabetically, but I really want to try rainbow shelves soonish. Just have to find the time to tear all of them down lol!

What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten around to?

I’ve had Dante’s Divine Comedy on my TBR list since I was like 15. Still haven’t gotten to it yet. Whoops.

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: What book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t?

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee. I couldn’t get into and it was really hyped when it got released. So sad. I ended up DNFing it like three chapters in. Maybe someday I’ll give it another shot.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I adore high fantasy and science fiction. I’m total trash for the “chosen one” trope, even though I know it’s cheesy and way overused. Magical powers and kickass fighters are my favorite. Guns and swords are awesome. I love assassins and killers. I keep a wide berth between myself and pure romance novels. They’re awful.

If you could require that the president read one book, what would it be?

If I could force feed Trump a novel, it would be A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, or The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood (which I haven’t read, but I know it would do him some good).

What do you plan to read next?

Either Scythe by Neal Shusterman or A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro. I want to change it up a little from the super high fantasy stuff I’ve been reading.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

