Book & Life Recap: MARCH 2017

book&liferecapMARCH2017

March was an interesting month for me. By interesting of course, I mean life-changing and at times, terrible. At the end of February, I had my worst mental breakdown to date and wound up making some decisions I shouldn’t have. I finally went to the psychiatrist and was diagnosed with bipolar disorder, and was put on leave from work so that I could gather myself and adjust to my new medications. It’s been hard and confusing and scary. I’ve come to terms with the fact that I will be on medication for the rest of my life, and it’s hard knowing that I’m incapable of handling life on my own. It makes me feel weak, stupid, and a lot of other things I can’t find words for.

There were a lot of good things that happened this month, despite my life turning itself upside down, though. I finished the zero draft for my new novel that I started writing for NaNoWriMo last year. I’ve nearly reached 20,000 words, which is a feat in itself because it’s the fastest I’ve ever managed to write something. I’m excited to see if I’ll be able to finish this book and begin sending it to agents by the end of this year (which was my New Year’s resolution).

I was graced by the presence of my best friends for a week filled with some adventures, but mostly lazy reading and writing days. We explored San Francisco for a day. Most of that time was spent in the absolutely massive Westfield mall in the city, but we also explored some of the other popular stores nearby and visited the pier as well. There were a couple of drunken nights with Cards Against Humanity and Fireball that I won’t get into too much, but the important thing is that my doting boyfriend put up with every second of it – and I not only love him more for it but probably owe him big time as well.

Finally, I managed to get through four books this month! Not my best record, but decent considering all of my distractions.

 

Book #1: Monstress Vol.1 by Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda

Monstress_Vol1-1

I gave Monstress Vol.1 a five-star rating on Goodreads! I have a tendency to give five-star ratings out fairly easily because I’m fairly easy to please (also I hate being mean, I’ll work on it), but this particular book deserved it. This is my first graphic novel since my stint with Bone in middle school, and WOW what a step up this is. The artwork is beautiful, and the storyline is intriguing and caught my attention. I’d love an anime series for this someday. In the meantime, I’ll just wait for volume two.

 

Book #2: A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

2634972e7a77b30e4b79fcc15be14c27

I gave A Conjuring of Light a five-star rating on Goodreads as well! I’m completely obsessed with all of Vee’s work, and this was a stunning, magical ending to her Darker Shades trilogy. There was romance. There were magical duels. There were dick jokes. It really couldn’t have been better. Vee has mentioned a couple of times on her twitter account that she might return to the Londons in future works, and I have to admit I’m clamoring for more. Our Dark Duet is coming soon, so I’ll have to wait to get my fix of Schwab’s writing. You can read my full review of A Conjuring of Light HERE.

 

Book #3: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

OFAScoverR-678x1024

I gave Of Fire and Stars a four-star rating on Goodreads! It was an adorable novel that I ended up enjoying much more than I thought I would. It sort of took me back to my fluffy fanfiction days. There were a lot of cute and funny moments that made me smile. The story wasn’t the most riveting, but like I said, it was cute. And we could all use more LGBTQ rep in our novels. I’m all for lesbian princesses falling in love.

 

Book #4: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

21414439

I gave Truthwitch a five-star rating on Goodreads! It was an incredible start to the series. Chalked full of magic, sword fights, friendship, romance, and mystery. The world building was absolutely incredible. The characters were full to the brim, with no Mary-Sues in sight. I was surprised by how much I liked this book, and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series as part of my April reads! You can read my full review of Truthwitch HERE.

 

What did you guys read this month? Did you read any of the books I listed above? If so, let’s talk about them! I’d love to chat in the comments about what you thought!

2 thoughts on “Book & Life Recap: MARCH 2017

  1. i haven’t read any of these books yet, but most of them are on my tbr and i’m excited! also it’s a huge step to go see a psychiatrist and that’s seriously amazing that you can start getting help! hope the adjustment and everything goes well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

