Truthwitch Review

truthwithREVIEW

 

5.0

“If you wanted to, Safiya, you could bend and shape the world.”

If there are any fellow aspiring authors out there who want to know what world building looks like, Susan Dennard and this series is definitely a fantastic example. I’m not going to lie… this book was a teensy bit hard to invest myself in at the beginning. Like Schwab’s This Savage SongTruthwitch is one of those novels that totally drops you straight into the story without zero info dropping whatsoever. Which for some readers, like myself, makes a story difficult to understand. The backstory is mostly easy to figure out once you start to pay attention, though, so I wasn’t confused for long.

The characters and dynamics in this story are just as gorgeous as its cover (even though I wish it were matte rather than glossy). I originally planned the sequel, Windwitch to be a part of my April reads, but my hands are itching to snag it from my shelves and continue this story.

The Pretty:

Truthwitch was overall, a fantastic book. Dennard’s world building and character backstory are brilliantly done, especially in a book that feels rather small to have packed in so much punch. She touches on character backstories here and there without really info-dropping a small novella’s worth of blah and leaves a lot of untied threads (see what I did there?) to be tied up later by the readers own realizations which I LOVE. I really enjoyed the magic dynamics and the way people’s powers functioned, but there wasn’t any one all-powerful witch because of the cleaving force that keeps them from overusing their witchery. Great concepts that I’ve never seen before in other novels. I loved the idea of thread-sisters and thread-families being just as important, if not more important than blood.

Safi, Iseult, Merik, Aeduan, Evrane… every character seemed real. Even the minor characters were rounded and thought out. No one fell flat. Not once.

The Ugly:

I don’t have much to say here. Really, I don’t. This book was beautifully done. My only complaint was the beginning that left me dazed and confused about the book I was reading and the world I was supposed to be in. But of course, that’s a personal preference on my part that many people don’t share with me, so I would hardly call it ugly. The only other thing I found that bothered me were the chaotic fight scenes. They were written in a very jumbled style and I found them pretty difficult to interpret at times.

BOOK STATS:

  • YA Fantasy
  • Written by Susan Dennard
  • Published by TOR Teen in January 2016
  • 416 Pages
  • Start Date: March 11, 2017
  • Finish Date: March 26, 2017

 

RATINGS:

  • Plot – 5
  • Characters – 5
  • Writing Style – 5
  • Entertainment Value – 5
  • Cover – 4.5

 

(the 4.9 rating of this novel was an average combination of the following scores, rounded up to an even number)
4 thoughts on “Truthwitch Review

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

