Shamelessly Tooting My Own Horn

IMG_0132

(check out my office lighting this morning !! OVEREXPOSURE FOR THE WIIIINNNN)

Last night I finished the first step in the long process I have ahead of me. As some friends and family know, I started a new project for NaNoWriMo last November. I chose to revamp an old novel that I had started a couple of years back and sort of gave up on because it was coming across as more of a middle-grade novel, than the new adult novel I wanted it to be. My characters were flat, and my plot was riddled with holes. So like the hoarder I am, I stashed it away for another day.

Well, November was that day, and last night was the night I finally finished my zero draft. For those of you who don’t know what a zero draft is, it’s essentially the detailed outline of your story. It’s a way to ensure you don’t stray off track or riddle your story with plot holes during the writing process, and it is a life saver for wanna-be authors like myself who are terrible at getting through the middle hump that is the climb before your climax.

With 45 chapters planned in detail, and nearly 15k words already since November, I think it’s safe to say I can breathe for a second – clean the house a bit more, read my current read (Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst – what did you guys think about it?), and probably start on my LIT homework.

One thought on “Shamelessly Tooting My Own Horn

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

