A Court of Thorns and Roses Review

img_0015

3.5

“You can leave if you’re just going to insult me…”

“But I’m so good at it.”

Alright, so I have to admit, the hype behind this book had me pumped to start reading this series. But I feel like maybe it wasn’t the right idea to jump into it right after finishing Sarah J Maas’ other (INCREDIBLE) series, Throne of Glass. Admittedly after all the build up, I feel a teensy bit let down. Compared to Sarah’s other novels, this one seemed to lack some of her usual sparkle. But being an aspiring author myself, I know how difficult it can be to invest yourself in one series, and then jump into writing the beginning of another. You kind of have to find yourself again, which makes it understandable that this just isn’t Maas’ best.

The Pretty:

ACOTAR is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and while it was obscure it was still cleverly done. I enjoyed the way Maas incorporated the glamor and the masks as a way to pay homage to the original characters in their not-so-inanimate object forms, and to Tamlin as the Beast himself. I liked the backstory of Feyre’s family and their demise prior to the story’s beginning. The plot’s overall concept was interesting, but just not as solid as I would have liked.

RHYSAND. I don’t need to say much else, but I will. Without spoiling anything, he is without a doubt the most rounded and enjoyable character in this book, with a few exceptions given to some of the smaller, side characters like Alis and Feyre’s sisters. He’s dark, and witty, and absolutely yummy. My question is – if Feyre is the beauty, and Tamlin is the beast, does that make Rhysand Maas’ version of Gaston?  No one’s slick as Gaston, No one’s quick as Gaston, No one’s neck’s as incredibly thick as Gaston’s…

As always, Sarah J Maas’ writing style is easy to read and enjoyable. And of course, the cover is gorgeous!

The Ugly:

While the Beauty and the Beast tropes in this book were clever, the jumpiness wasn’t. I couldn’t help but feel like this book had been formatted and edited to fit my TV screen and allotted time. It was almost like important scenes were cut out, and I found myself trying to figure out when certain things had changed between characters (I’m trying not to spoil everything here… book reviews are hard).
While I praised Rhysand above, that’s really all I’ve got for my positive outlook on the characters of this book. Tamlin was an awful control freak with angst and broodiness to spare, and Feyre felt almost empty and idiotic at times.
Overall, the book was mostly just alright. I’ve heard a lot of my fellow bookish friends rant about the series as a whole and explain that ACOMAF is significantly better. It’s next on my TBR list, so I supposed I’ll find out soon!

BOOK STATS:

  • High Fantasy/Romance
  • Written by Sarah J Maas
  • Published by Bloomsbury in May, 2015
  • 419 Pages
  • Start Date: January 11, 2017
  • End Date: January 15, 2017

 

RATINGS:

  • Plot – 4
  • Characters – 2.5
  • Writing Style – 4
  • Cover – 4
(the 3.5 rating of this novel was an average combination of the following scores, rounded down to an even number)

 

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

