2017: Revisions, Resolutions, and Reads

As with every other new year, resolutions have begun to flood social media as if God told Noah “new year, new me” and Noah was like “yeah” and decided to tweet in pairs about his goals for the new year. I, myself, am no exception to the phenomenon that is the belief of new years bringing about a fresh start to those who need it.

As I contemplated the goals I ultimately wanted to try (and fail) this year, the basics crossed my mind – eat better, exercise more, get skinny, rule the world – but of course announcing these goals wouldn’t elicit the applause my egotistical consciousness craved. So I pulled myself together and focused instead on my more personal and career driven goals.

2016 brought me some small successes. I got a new job with co-workers who make me feel comfortable and valued. I no longer stress about work, and my anxiety is at a minimum most days, which is a huge success for me. Day by day, I’m learning how to brush things off and save worries for a day when they’re more necessary and make more sense, rather than worrying about things that don’t matter and possibly never will.

My goals for this year mostly revolve around my bookish life. By the end of 2017, I would like to finish and begin revising my first draft of a new novel I began working on for NanoWriMo last year. It’s a high fantasy novel that I’m contemplating making a duology or trilogy. I only made it to about 10,000 words after nano, so I’ve got a very long way to go. But I’m having a really fun time planning out the rest of the novel.

Other than that, I’m desperate to make this blog at least semi-successful, along with my bookstagram account. They’ve both been neglected despite my good intentions. Now all I need is better lighting to take photos with (and probably some batteries for my camera) and to sacrifice my first born to obtain some photography skill.

In the meantime, I’ll continue binge of Sarah J Maas’s Throne of Glass series and cry alone when I finish Empire of Storms later this month.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

