My newfound love of Sci-Fi

If you’re looking to find a few sci-fi novels to inhale and enjoy, YA authors have produced a few incredibly stunning novels that are worth giving a shot.  In the past, I was never a fan of science fiction.  I always preferred fantasy or high fantasy having grown up in YA literature’s era of magic (referring to the popularity of HP and similar novels in the early 2000’s).  Then of course came the era of vampires and werewolves that I’d prefer to only mention for fear that I may fall back into that deep, dark hole (you all know exactly what I’m talking about).  Now it seems that with the renewal of the Star Wars and Star Trek franchises that age of sci-fi has come to fruition once again, and this time it’s found a place in YA literature.

I’ve read the entirety of The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, and even though the novels straddle the line between fantasy and sci-fi they’re absolutely incredible novels and a great way to test your literary waters and see if you might enjoy reading something sci-fi in nature.

FullSizeRender 3

The same can be said for Victoria Aveyard’s trilogy, including Red Queen, Glass Sword, and the to-be-released King’s Cage.  Her combination of a futuristic, totalitarian government, and magic (yes, magic) makes for an incredible read.  Though if you despise being hoodwinked by your feels, perhaps stay far far away from Aveyard and her work.

DSCN0660

Ultimately though, it’s the beautiful novel I’ve featured above that spiked my adoration for sci-fi.  The Illuminae trilogy goes above and beyond anything I’ve ever read, both in formatting and plot, and is easily one of my favorites of all time.  I was completely blown away by this masterpiece (and there’s a full review to come later on this blog).  I also happened to get my hands on an ARC of the sequel, Gemina, which I will photograph and feature on this blog soon!

 

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

